top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoger Chrysler

Track Work and Ballasting

It's been a while since I updated the blog. I've completed ground cover, installed trees, now I'm finishing track detailing and ballasting the track. I was percolating ideas when I was presented with a friend's lifetime of research and supplies. He was very organized, with a number of binders of different products and plans and the publications to further that high quality work. It hearkened back to my brother Rich's track work, which was considerably ahead of my own.

One book is Mike Cougill's "Detailing Track". This deals with Proto 48, but still, the images and work are inspiring for me to try in HO code 70. All of a sudden the light came on! The packages of Central Valley turnouts and details, the Proto 87 Stores etched switch point details and the Details West code 70 plastic joint bars that I had been given, suddenly had relevance.

The photo shows a detailed turnout, etched detail point brace bar, rail braces, joint bars, guard rail bolt detail. A low level switch stand by Alder Models (since out of business). The CNR switch stand is by OMI. I originally started with Scenic Express Light Grey Ballast, then by my reading tried a mix of three Woodland Scenics Fine grades, 1 part grey, 1 part light grey, 1 part Buff. This gives a more natural colour variation.


The Light Grey SE ballast. Past the Alder Models CPR switch stand you can see some of the Central Valley rail braces four ties outside the points. When Alder came out with these switch stands, Rich and I each bought a layout's worth of them. Good thing as they are hard to find now.

Light grey ballast on the left, my WS triple mix centre and right.


Anticipating the overhead wire. I've tried different rail painting methods. This shows Woodland Scenics paint marker pens, Rail Brown. Too shiny and transparent, so this will be repainted Vallejo Acrylic "Dirt" colour.

CNR interchange track at Simcoe. This is still freshly ballasted and wet, so I haven't had a chance to clean off the tops of ties and sides of rails.

Fresh ballast in front of the Simcoe freight shed. During the period I'm modelling, CPR was spending a lot of money on putting down fresh ballast and grooming the right of way. Some say that was a way of showing a greater loss before they abandoned passenger service, but it makes for a neatly groomed route.

126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page