top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoger Chrysler

Glass houses part 2

I've got several projects on the go at once. I tend to percolate ideas and wait for more research or inspiration. I've been steady at the greenhouses and found a little clue to help with the branding.


I had fun with the stack for the steam heating plant. I've had the Walthers chimney in my stash for quite some time. Some old Woodland Scenics dry transfer lettering did the trick, but it was fragile and hard to work with. The bands are fishing line, the type of new flat braided stuff that casts like 8 lb. test but has the strength of 20 lb. The colour was a blue-green, that once applied to the stack gave a striking resemblance to steel banding. I tied the loops off at the narrowest part of the stack, then slid it into place to tension it.


The second photo shows the back unseen side with the knots.


This Ivey's employee photo set me off on another detective hunt. The office building in the background has a logo above it. "Ivey's (something) Roses I could make out. I seem to remember red trim on a white building. I checked Facebook again on the Port Dover Harbour museum site because they had an exhibit on Ivey's a year ago.


There was the company logo in colour. I reproduced it using coloured decal paper, alphabet lettering and some red and green paint.


I'd been saving this International delivery van to do up for Ivey's ever since it was first released about 12 years ago. You can see the first stages of the logo and also the larger one for the building behind.

Here's the other side of the van. I'd like to write "Ivey's" in script on the blank white panel.


Meanwhile the greenhouses themselves have been coming along. I'm using selective compression to model about 1/8th of the huge complex that was there. I've got a large one at either end, then seven smaller houses in between instead of the ten in reality. The stack is on the left with the steam piping over the CNR tracks to help hide the hole in the wall. One of the smaller greenhouses was in a batch I bought at a train show, so I based the others on it.



Next I built a compressed office building from cement block sheet from Wills and quoin corner detail. Windows and door are Tichy. I compressed by using two windows side to side rather than three and left off some of the additions. I also added a foundation to the greenhouses and built tables inside that I will eventually add some fibrous product to represent the rose beds.


Logo temporarily in place. I've also been building and painting wheelbarrows and tools for my gardeners.


116 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page