top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoger Chrysler

Past & Future on the Lake Erie & Northern

Since moving over a year ago and dismantling my home layout, I've started on another one in my new digs.

I hope to share the old images with the new and improved (I hope) layout. Challenges are more space, different shapes of rooms, a basement to finish with studding, drywalling and drop ceiling, providing power drops in useful spots.

The old basement with doorways leading into the laundry area gave an opportunity to model the former Brantford and Hamilton Electric Railway yard and connection to CN in Brantford via a 4 foot branch / fiddle yard. This included the backs of downtown businesses and all the neat urban decay that goes along with that. The Market Street bridge acted as a backdrop with a mirror under it to create a continuation of the scene.

The new basement doesn't have that opportunity, a problem the eventually turned into a solution in the old house.

With more space comes also the opportunity to model scenes that I missed last time. Already, I've planned a bridge across the Lynn River, south of Simcoe. The low trestle that I had on the Brook Woolen Mill pond will be rebuilt, straight this time. I've got room for the CNR diamond and interchange track south of Simcoe also.


I've already improved the lighting by ridding myself of fluorescents and replacing them with 4 foot LED panels.

Since the end of November 2019, I've started on the Port Dover scene, hand laying six switches and the yard track.

I'm using ABS plastic sheet for fascia and installing Walthers new servo switch motors.

Just this last week, I started on the spline roadbed around the end of the stairwell. Straight ahead is the benchwork for the new Simcoe scene. The two vertical pieces of plywood by the upper yellow clamp will provide support for the Lynn River bridge.

Time to stop writing and get back to work.


Former Simcoe station scene.


High cubes under the Market Street Bridge, Brantford. Notice the mirror under the bridge.



163 views2 comments
bottom of page